Fullybooked’s Fukubukuro 2020

This post was supposed to be made during the first week of January but my work deadlines have taken precedence over my hobbies that the latter kept getting pushed back. And now we are here.

I have made a post of the unboxing last year (my Fukubukuro 2019 post). I might do this again next year if I can.

Fukubukuro bags are part of the Japanese custom every new year where they fill bags of random merchandise and sell them for a very low price. For Fullybooked, the bags are available since January 1. The original promotion runs for January 1 to 7 but got extended to January 31.

Fullybooked’s Fukubukuro bags contain the hardbound book The Laws of Human Nature by Robert Greene last year. This year, they made it more exciting by introducing four lucky bags that suit their readers needs: Stack of Stories, Constant Learner, Growing Readers, and Wild Card. The Stack of Stories are for the humanities reader – fiction, biographies, and philosophy. The Constant Learner bags are for those who enjoy books on leadership, self-improvement, and personal growth. The Growing Readers bags are for kids and young adults. The Wild Card for the adventurous for the bag contains anything. One of the things they might contain is Edith Hamilton’s Mythology, a book which I do not have yet and would like to own.

I bought my bag in Greenbelt. I prefer to get the Stack of Stories but the store did not have them anymore. I did not want to get the Wild Card because I know I am not that lucky when it comes to these kinds of things.

I got the following:

  • Paris (Jane Foster)
  • Alibaba: The House That Jack Ma Built (Duncan Clark) – PhP 816
  • Outer Order, Inner Calm (Gretchen Rubin) – PhP 816
  • Pocket Frida Kahlo Wisdom – PhP 399
  • Gothic Chilling Horror Short Stories – PhP 1,199
  • Metal Petals Bookmarks – PhP 299 (I will give this away)
DSCF9643
DSCF9657
DSCF9658
DSCF9659
DSCF9660
DSCF9661
DSCF9664

The bag costs PhP 2,020 but the content is more than PhP 3,259. I do not know how much the bag itself costs.

DSCF9668

Although I am initially apprehensive, I am excited to read the books I got. I am still sad that I did not get the Mythology book. Somehow, the hardbound book of horror short stories satisfied me.

Aside from the bag, I also bought Insurrecto by Gina Apostol and Mitch Albom’s The Next Person You Meet in Heaven (the book after Five People You Meet in Heaven).

DSCF9644

Happy new year and I hope you will stick around for more books and adventures this year. If you also got a Fukubukuro from Fullybooked, let me know. Let’s talk about the contents or your reaction to what you got.

Until next time!

Author: Patricia

Active at night and sleeping during the day, she finds comfort in reading books and drinking tea. She dreams of a better world, advocates for education and increase focus in areas like Mathematics and Sciences, and plans to build a big library open to everyone. She is intimidating if you don't know her.

Leave a comment